Surya Namaskar (The Sun Salutation)

A lot of people say, if you are not doing any physical exercise, but 5 to 10 minute daily Surya Namascar it’s already enough for having a healthy body. The benefits of this twelve Asanas are uncountable, but I will tell you for sure more about them. For now, see by yourself the change in your body and enjoy! 



1. Pranamasana (Prayer/Respect Pose)

Stand straight with your feet together, your tailbone in and the feet together. The eyes are closed. Slowly place your palms together in the Namaste pose. Take a moment to be grateful for the sun, the source of life.



2. Hasta Utthanasana (raised arms pose)

Release the Namaste pose and let your hands fall to you ties. With inhale you raise and stretch both arms above the head and finally bend the head, arms and the upper trunk backward.


3. Padahastasana (hand to foot pose)

With exhale bend forward until your fingers or palms touch the floor next to your feet. Bring your upper part of the body and your forehead as close as possible to your legs and keep the knees straight. If you can’t touch the floor, don’t worry you will after some time. Take it easy, Asanas are not a competition, it’s about to help yourself.


4. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (equestrian pose)

Stretch your right leg back, bend your left knee (please notice not to go over 90 degree angle with your knee, otherwise you will hurt it). The left foot remains in its position while the hands also do not change place but supporting the body. With inhale look as far as possible upward.


5. Parvatasana (mountain pose)

With exhale look take the right foot back, stretch you arms. The arms and knees are straight, raise your buttocks and bring your head and shoulders towards the knees. The heels should touch the ground, if that’s not directly the case, don’t worry, after a few rounds you already will see improvement.


6. Ashtanga Namaskar (salute with eight parts or points)

Hold your breath and drop your knees, chest and chin on the floor. Keep hands and feet in it’s place. If it’s not possible for you to drop all the body parts at the same time, start with the knees, then the chest and finally the chin.


7. Bhujangasana (cobra pose)

With inhale raise you head up and bend backward. The hands and feet remain in its positions. The hips will automatically touch the ground. Your navel should remain on the floor.


8.Parvatasana (mountain pose)

With exhale go back in Parvatasana (see introduction no. 5).


9. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (equestrian pose)

With inhale place your right foot now between your hands and look upward (see also introduction no.4).


10. Padahastasana (hand to foot pose)

With exhale take your left foot next to the right. The right foot and the hands remain in there positions if possible (see also introduction no. 3).


11. Hasta Utthanasana (raised arms pose)

With inhale raise again to Hasta Utthanasana (see introduction no. 2).


12.Pranamasana (Prayer/Respect Pose)

Exhale back to Pranamasana (see introduction no. 1) Take a moment time to get aware of the changes in the body.


This was a half round. The twelve Asanas of Surya Namascar are practiced twice to complete one round. The slightly difference for the second time is, that you take your left leg back instead of the right one in Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Position no. 4).  And same in Position no. 9, you step first with your left leg forward.

Start at the beginning with three full rounds and slowly raise the number of your rounds after one or two weeks, always to an uneven number.

Last but not least my inspiration and help for this article I got from the book Asana Pranayama Mudra Bandha from Swami Satyananda Saraswati, as well my beloved husband, who made the pictures and his elder brother, who always encourage me in “stuff like this” (;  And of course my Yoga Teacher Trainer Rana Ji, who made always sure, we gonna learn the right and healthy posture. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s